Coverart for item
The Resource Unwifeable : a memoir, Mandy Stadtmiller

Unwifeable : a memoir, Mandy Stadtmiller

Label
Unwifeable : a memoir
Title
Unwifeable
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Mandy Stadtmiller
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From the popular, "fresh, funny, and highly readable" (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit. My story is not standalone. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love--and still find Mr. Right. Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy!), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane. But there was a darker side to the glitz and glamor threatening to surface. After countless failed romances and too many blackout nights, she gave up on love and came to terms with who she was: broken, hurting, and angry. So she got sober and regained control of her life. And on the very last day of her thirties, she got engaged on the steps of Times Square to a man who spoke red flag fluently who couldn't wait to make her his wife. Finally falling in love and getting married didn't magically somehow fix her--but it did represent a metamorphosis of spirit. Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life--Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a book that you can't help but respond and relate to--perfect for fans of Amy Schumer, Chelsea Handler, and Sarah Hepola"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stadtmiller, Mandy
Dewey number
  • 070.4/44092
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
PN4874.S623
LC item number
A3 2018
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Stadtmiller, Mandy
  • Advice columnists
  • Women journalists
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Wit and humor
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Label
Unwifeable : a memoir, Mandy Stadtmiller
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The black box -- The big break -- The new normal -- The gossip girl -- The dating column -- The homemaker -- The unhinged -- The rebirth -- The guy
Control code
on1019836178
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Extent
321 pages
Isbn
9781501174032
Lccn
2017048816
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781501174032
  • (OCoLC)1019836178
Label
Unwifeable : a memoir, Mandy Stadtmiller
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The black box -- The big break -- The new normal -- The gossip girl -- The dating column -- The homemaker -- The unhinged -- The rebirth -- The guy
Control code
on1019836178
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Extent
321 pages
Isbn
9781501174032
Lccn
2017048816
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781501174032
  • (OCoLC)1019836178

Library Locations

    • Amesbury Public LibraryBorrow it
      149 Main Street, Amesbury, MA, 01913, US
      42.8553611 -70.9328578
Processing Feedback ...